A little burnt out

Fortunately I’ve been diligent with my daily weigh-ins.

But unfortunately, I’ve been diligent with my daily weigh-ins.

I haven’t seen any new (favorable results) in the past two weeks. I was getting frustrated when I realized the powder that is supposed to last me a month, has actually lasted me far longer .

I guess I’m guilty of not keeping up with the challenge.

There’s a few factors resulting in my lack of motivation:

Factor 1: I’ve been drinking the shake twice a day for over two months. I don’t care how good it is, I need some excitement in my meals. Sorry Vi company, but a cake tasting powder just can’t satisfy me in the endurance round.

Factor 2: My sister-in-law is an amazing cook. You can call me weak, you can call bullshit on this excuse, but until you’ve had fresh, home-cooked Peruvian food, your opinion is not valid.

Factor 3: I’ve had a damn shake twice a day for two months now.

Factor 4: My hometown is finally building up and the restaurants are actually crave-able.
off topic rant

Last night I had a date night with my husband (that’s right fellas I’m taken; sorry to disappoint). We decided to try the new restaurant downtown (Barrel Aged). The moment I walked in I felt as if I had entered a movie from the film noire era.

1930s rhythm played in the background; hues of yellow and brown blanketed the room and we sat in a booth worthy for Al Capone and his minions.
I absolutely loved it.
When the power unexpectedly went out, instead of kicking us out, the bar tender grabbed her iPad, lit up the bar and said “at least I have light to make drinks.”

Now that’s one worthy Dame.

End of rant off topic rant

So needless to say, If the option comes up to have something other than my shake, I take it.

So here is my new plan. My weakness to say no to other meals occur when I get home. My new strategy is to now have the shake for breakfast and lunch, and save the meal for dinner.

As much as I prefer to eat a majority of my calories prior to night fall, it’s not doing me any good if I continue to cheat myself every dinner.

Now with all this said, there are some good qualities to mention.

My hunger is much more manageable since I’ve started the shakes. I don’t feel starved during the day like I use to, and I feel full a lot earlier in my meal.

I have not been working out since the days have began to struggle with darkness. Waking up to jog with no light is not at all motivating. However, the little muscle definition I have has retained, and I think it’s due to the shakes.

In the end, this is really my fault why I haven’t stayed on track; I’m a sucker for good food and new things to try.

While I will not reach my goal by 90 days, I’m hoping things may turn around with a shake in the morning and afternoon.

I will keep you posted in one week.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “A little burnt out

  1. Hey! I just found your blog, but sounds like you need some motivation. I’m not sure what steps you are taking or what your goal is, but it totally normal to feel like your in a rut sometimes. Don’t be afraid to change it up if it’s not working for you anymore and get encouraged by something new.

    And by all means, treat yourself when there is good food to try. Coming from a fitness loving foodie myself, good food should never go untasted 😉

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

