Gingerbread latte – the best part of the holidays

Even though Thanksgiving has yet to pass, the Christmas joy at Starbucks has returned not a moment too soon; I am forever thankful for the season of the gingerbread lattes (see what I did there?)

Between the Thanksgiving festivities, food, the Christmas lights, music and snacks, this is without a doubt one of my favorite times of the year. However, with the cold weather and time change, it has made going to the gym a little more challenging.

This is usually my season for hibernation; where vegging out in front of the TV watching cheesy ABC family movies and eating peanut brittle is my favorite hobby.

But not this year. Since I’ve started the Vi shake, I’ve noticed a lack of unnecessary snacking, even with the holiday-time-weather change.

I’m just not as hungry, and snack food is oddly less appetizing for me. The other day I went out to dinner with an old friend and ordered the Mac and Cheese. By the end of the night, I felt a little sick.

Once I ruled out the pregnancy scare, I knew it had to be the Paula Deen-esq food I had ordered. This is never an issue for me. My favorite food groups are fried and cheese, and yet I still felt sick? I realized the shake is to thank (or blame, but I’m going with the thanks) for feeling ill after such a hearty greasy meal. I hardly eat those things any more, and when I do, I can’t finish it. I fill up very quickly, and it’s no longer appetizing enough to eat through the fullness.

Since I’ve moved from two shakes a day to only one, I have maintained the little weight I lost and have a nice little definition in the stomach area.

So as I write to you all today on my -lunch break, on my phone, in the local Starbucks, drinking my gingerbread latte I’ve eagerly waited for for the past 9 months- I feel no guilt. I’ve been diligent about my portions, religious with drinking one shake a day, and I am very happy with my results (thus far).

I’ll try my best to keep this up on the 22nd (considering I have three turkey meals to go to in one day), but in the end, I’m going to enjoy the holidays and be grateful I have food to eat and the dilemma of too many different family members to visit in one 24 hour period.

Until then, Happy Thanksgiving!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

