To give and take

I regularly get brazilian waxes.

I figured I would just say it instead of beating around the bush. (get it?!)

I go every month to a wonderful waxist (don’t know if that is how I should refer to her). Either way, I’m very loyal to Amy. She has arms covered with original artwork, wears hip up-dos, and is spunkier than I. 

Amy’s average work day consist of 16 brazilian waxes. That’s a lot of half naked women Amy sees.

For those of you who have never experienced a brazilian wax, you start off lying on your back and end lying on your stomach. From the waist down, there are no secrets from Amy. 

When the torture was finally over, I put my pants back on (I didn’t realize how awkward painting this picture would be when I started this post), and Amy says, “you’re in really good shape.” 

Amy sees about 16 women a day: that’s 16 pairs of legs, 16 lower abdominals, and 16 asses.  Although I would usually argue such a statement, coming from Amy, this was an extremely nice compliment. I hadn’t been working out because of a new job, so I had been feeling pretty flabby. But Amy, wonderful Amy, boost my ego a little bit that day. She didn’t have to say anything, but she did. 

At that moment I realized to appreciate the given compliments. I also need to stop being selfish and actually start complimenting other people. And I don’t mean doing the girl thing where you give a compliment after one was already given to you, but to just tell a random stranger, “nice legs” (I tend to notice legs since mine stopped growing at 5’2”).

Don’t be creepy about it, but next time you see someone you admire, let them know.

Fuck it. Maybe your compliment will be the reason they had a better day, encouraged them to go to the gym later, or brought up their self-esteem slightly. I need to do this more myself, and since it’s a new year, why not start this habit now?

Share with me what someone has said to you lately. Don’t be shy. Be confident, egotistical, proud: it’s ok to be self-involved, especially when you appreciate what others also have. 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “To give and take

  1. Hey Darling Daughter thanks for the images eeeuuuu! I used to tell people at work “There are two things we don’t want to think about and that it is either our children or our parents having sex. Thanks for adding a third and giving flying down to Rio a new insinuation.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Great blog! 🙂 You’re such a talented writer Rikki. Only you can take a topic like Brazilian waxing and make it funny, clever and end it with a great message about life in general.

Leave a Reply

