I am determined to look good in Yoga pants

The big perk of avoiding the gym after the new year, and working out at home, is not having to worry about the inevitable camel toe. 

I literally have gone to the gym twice in two weeks. For those of you quick with math: yes; that’s an average of once per week.

24 Hour Fitness is already a packed gym, especially the one near my hometown. And if I opt to go to the one near my work, then I risk being surrounded by a lot of guys with spiky hair. I’m not saying spiky hair is a bad thing. I’m just saying it’s a bit douchebaggy.

My new plan for the new year is to find workouts online and do them at home. I can then save the whopping 25 dollars a month I spend on the gym. This can now go to my tattoo fund I’ve been trying to work on for the past five years. (My new years resolution should probably be related to managing money better.)

Below is a screenshot of a workout my cousin posted on facebook:

Image

 

Being the half-ass achiever that I am, I of course did this the minimum amount of times required. 

It still took me 45 minutes.

I don’t have a step, so I opted to do 30 sit-ups with a 10 pound medicine ball in place of the 30 step ups. I also replaced the burpees with my beloved bomb-diver push ups (check out my prior post for technique). If you really want to add danger to this workout, I recommend having a seven-pound house cat with you in the room trying to attack you when lying on the floor or in push up position. 

After the first set, I took the duration of the song “Inside Out” by Eve 6 to stretch. This is a good strategy to avoid injury, as well as, the insanity you risk for committing to such a routine.

If you are a beginner, I would recommend cutting the reps in half, if not to a quarter. According to my Sergeant in physical therapy school, I have thunder thighs, so a workout like this should be easy for someone like me. Which it wasn’t, and my thunder thighs feel more like a kittens meow. 

They’re weak. Yeah I agree, that was a terrible attempt at an analogy. 

If you have any recommended at-home workouts, please let me know. I need to continue to save up for at least a tattoo cover up. That I will explain later.

Until next time friends!

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “I am determined to look good in Yoga pants

  1. CSDFITNESS says:

    YouTube is great for them. And sometimes they are easier to follow because your doing the workout with the person and all the rest times etc are done for you:) just search on YouTube what type of work “ab workout” “kettle bell workout” I think from memory a channel I like is called fitness blender, I think!!

    • Rikki says:

      I always forget about YouTube! I never use it. Before VEVO, I would go to YouTube to look up music videos, and could never find what I was looking for because people would just upload videos of themselves talking about the music video I wanted to see. I got frustrated and never used it again. Thanks for the advice! I’m definitely going to look up fitness blender and see if I can find other new workouts to try! I think it’s time I forgive YouTube and give it a try again.

Leave a Reply

