Finally a review of something (fitness related)

I read a fact somewhere saying if you tell someone you’re going to do something, it has the same psychological effects as if you had already done it:

  • Body by Vi challenge
  • Clean eating
  • Spartan beast race

This is just a short list of everything I have told you guys I was going to do, and never actually went through with.
At least now I know why.

For the past six weeks I have been doing the free Ab Workout at least four times per week. (Screenshot below.)

Image

Seeing how I have a reputation of saying I am going to do something and not follow through, I decided the best course of action was to review this app once my findings were done.

I feel so scientific.

The free version has two different routines: the first one is mainly crunches and the second one is focused on core strength. Being in the military (and having to do a minimum of 52 sit-ups within two minutes to pass any physical training test), I really thought I was far more advanced for just five minutes of crunches.

Sometimes ego is a funny thing.

I was surprised at the amount of struggle I endured on a few of the exercises my first few attempts.

Never underestimate the power of a basic crunch. 

I chose to do five minutes each time; however, you can choose for a longer session. Me just being the bare minimum chick, I figured it wouldn’t be realistic for me to choose anything longer than the five minute option. 

There are 10 exercises for 30 seconds each, and each exercise is accompanied with a little video and three-second rest in between. My favorite aspect of this app is I can still listen to my podcast while running it. 

I am going to do something I have never done before. 

I have posted before and after pics…

Image

Ignore what I am doing with my hand in the top right corner.

There’s (admittedly) not too much of a difference. But I want to emphasize, I really haven’t worked out more than once (maybe twice) a week since I started this routine. Nor have I changed my diet – which means cheese and cookies are usually a daily necessity. (Okay, and wine.)

I wanted as little variables as possible to show the full potential of just these five minutes.

I highly recommend this app. Even on my lazy days, I found the energy (in the words of Nike) to “just do it”. It goes by quickly, and you can simultaneously listen to “Jay and Silent Bob Get Old”.

I haven’t even mentioned the best part yet: once your finished, the app gives you a round of applause congratulating you on your hard work. 

I wish everything ended in applause.

Til next time friends!

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

